A little bit about me

I entered into Higher Education a little later in life than the traditional aged student, so I suppose I’m what you call a non-traditional student. I was 30 when I started. I know, not that much later, but enough time for it to make a real difference to my learning opposed to that of my fellow 18 year old, straight from A levels, students. I undertook a BA (Hons) Social Science degree, initially taking the first two years at my local college; North Lindsey College, and then moving onto my final year at the University of Lincoln. I completed my undergraduate degree in 2004, achieving a 2.1 classification.

I loved learning so much, criminology in particular, that I decided to take my learning further and embarked on an MA in Criminology and Research Methods at Keele University in 2004. Having passed this, I then decided that I needed to get some work. Not knowing what direction I should take, I chanced upon a meeting with an old lecturer who was the Programme Leader of the Social Science degree at North Lindsey College, and, over coffee he asked what I was intending to, work wise. I wasn’t sure. He said that there was an opening within the team to teach the criminology module, on a part time basis. I was apprehensive and very nervous at this thought, as I found out during my studies that presenting was not my strong point, ok on a one to one basis, but to a class…. hmm. I thought if I didn’t confront my fear head on then it would beat me, so I said yes. I taught the criminology module for the rest of the academic year. I’m not sure the fear of public speaking has ever gone away, but its easier to handle these days.

In 2006 I became the Programme Leader for the course. I was in that role for 7 years before deciding to throw caution to the wind and do a ski season with my husband in La Tania in the 3 Valleys, France. We loved it! So much so that we continued the life of chalet hosting and did a Summer season in Samoen in France before returning home in September 2014. By the way, I was in catering prior to entering into the world of academia, so I suppose the chalet hosting role was like going back to my roots.

Back in the UK, after taking a factory job to tide me over, I landed a part time sociology lecturing role teaching at A level in addition to Access and Degree level students at Lincoln College in 2015. And I’m still here. My role has changed a little as I no longer teach A levels, sorry but 16 year olds just don’t gel with my teaching style. My focus now is on the mature learners, this is where my heart is and where my EdD research interest lies.

After initially embarking on an EdD at Glasgow University in 2009, I soon realised that time was a huge factor. I could not commit the time to studying at this level whilst working full time. I left the programme after completing my first year of study. Having learned lessons from the past, I have, over recent years arranged my working pattern which allows me enough dedicated study time. I enrolled on my current EdD at the University of Wolverhampton in September 2019.

Thankyou for taking an interest in my story and I hope you are little more familiar with my background as a result.